Google+ Followers

February 5, 2011

Designer Stamps

For those of you who would like to mail in their bills with a cool designer stamp on the envelopes, you're in luck. The US postal service is commemorating twelve American industrial designers of the 20th century by releasing stamps to honor them. These designers include Frederick Hurten Rhead, Walter Dorwin Teague, Norman Bel Geddes, Russel Wright, Greta Von Nessen etc. Their works were simple and  streamlined yet they  projected an expensive look.These industrial household products are popular even today like the Russel Wright flatware, Gilbert Rohde electric clocks,  famous fiestaware by Frederick Rhead, and the Donald Deskey  iconic table lamp.

Earlier in 2008, the famous design couple, Ray and Charles Eames' contributions were recognized and commemorated in the USPS'  release of stamps. These stamps feature their acclaimed and legendary pieces like the LCW chair, the Eames storage unit, the La Chaise, the Eames Wire chair, etc.
(Image credit: USPS - 2011 Stamps, USPS - 2008 Stamps)

No comments:

Post a Comment